

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Past Recipients

1999 (First year of the awards)

Humanitarian	Ed Elliott
Leadership	Susan Duggins
Service	Tammy Long

2000	
Humanitarian	John Culp and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
Leadership	Warrensburg Ministerial Assoc. and CMSU ROTC
Service	Joe Alexander, Bob Warns, and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity

2001

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2002

Humanitarian Leadership Service Special Award

2003

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2004

Humanitarian Leadership Service Alex Wales and Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity CMSU University Housing, Sandra Irle Joan Mees, First United Methodist Church

Central Community Leaders, JP Mees, The Food Center Bryan Carter, Yvonne Johnson, Ekuwah Moses Lucille Gress, Mel Turner Crown Ford, Penny Lund *Robert Russell*

Maureen Wilt, The Bridge Builders Sue Whitman, Habitat for Humanity Robert Dick, Theta Chi

Jeff Arp, Survival Adult Abuse Jessie Adolph, Walt Hicklin Kristie Brinkley, Ralph Bardgett

2005

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2006

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2007

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2008

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2009

Humanitarian Robert L. Marshall Leadership

Service

2010

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2011

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2012

Humanitarian Leadership Service

2013

Humanitarian Leadership Service

Albion and Carolyn Mends, Sprint Foundation **Beth Tankersley** Beth Rutt, Africana Studies Club, Kim Drake

Dr. James Staab, Johnson County H.E.L.P., Leo Morton Jeanne Page, Jackie Harmon and Duane Sterling Mike Greife, Joy Mistele, Perry Foster

Stephanie Moore, Penny Roberts, Julie Wohletz Beth Rutt, Father Dennis Schaab Delia Gillis, Kathy Ray-Smith

Rev. Alex Wales Morris Collins, Rick and Liz Deno Sodexo

City of Warrensburg, Warrensburg Main Street, Inc., Johnson **County Economic Development Corporation** Steve Ciafullo

Shirley Briscoe Lisa Irle and Johnson County Historical Society Liz Kostas

Ike Skelton, THRIVE Organization Stormy Taylor, Johnson County Board of Services, Kyle Schell Kristie Brinkley, Salvation Army

Erica Collins Bulldogs Grocery Store – Leeton High School Students John Culp

Harvest of Hope Willie Shields Paige Becker, Robert Vickers **2014** Community Service Award

2015 Community Service Award

2016 Community Service Award

High School Community Service Award

2017 Community Service Award

High School Community Service Award

2018 Community Service Award

High School Community Service Award

2019 Community Service Award

High School Community Service Award

2020 Community Service Award

High School Community Service Award

Amy Jammeh, International Office at UCM Melissa Gower, Director of the Warrensburg Senior Center Marilyn and Hank Hamann, Todd Hamann Foundation Daphanie Parks, Chilhowee High School Doug Christie, Johnson County CROP Walk Committee Gabi Shull, gymnast, disability activist Diana Herman, Project Community Connect volunteer Zachariah Toole, student leader, volunteer firefighter Shirley Briscoe, Volunteer Coordinator for the Manna Harvest Nehemiah Feeding Program Kaylee Henry, inspiration to all Kelly Brooks, organizer of the Old Drum Day Festival Vicki Martins, volunteer with multiple organizations at WHS and in the community

2021 No awards given

2022 Community Service Award	Dr. Mary McCord, UCM Emerita Professor
High School Community Service Award	Cooper Hamblin, Crest Ridge High School senior
2023 Community Service Award	Monica Mitcheltree and family
High School Community Service Award	Sydney Burden, Knob Noster High School
2024 Community Service Award	Sharon Franklin
High School Community Service Award	Claire Thomas, Warrensburg High School